Fury’s Hollimon, Jones Nominated for MASL Individual Awards

by Gunnar Berndt

Make final three for Rookie of the Year, Top Newcomer, respectively

Milwaukee, WI – In preparation for the 2019 Ron Newman Cup Championship, the Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) today announced the nominees for the Major Individual Awards for the 2018-19 regular season. While the Ontario Fury’s DeBray Hollimon is one of three finalists for Rookie of the Year, his teammate Jermaine Jones has made the final three for Top Newcomer on the heels of being honored as one of 13 standouts in the same category.

The MASL Individual Awards winners will be announced at the Ron Newman Cup Press Conference this coming Saturday afternoon. The full schedule of Championship Week events may be found by clicking here.

Playing in his very first season in professional indoor soccer, 22-year-old Hollimon appeared in 21 of 24 games for the Fury as a defender, notching five goals and five assists. While the San Diego State alum put in stellar performances over the course of the entire campaign, he had some of his best attacking contributions down the stretch, tallying three times in the final five regular season matches and helping Ontario get within a hair of reaching the playoffs.

Former U.S. National Team and FIFA World Cup star Jones joined the Inland Empire club in mid-March, following a storied outdoor career that saw him log numerous appearances for the Stars and Stripes, in the UEFA Champions League and the top flights of Germany, England and Turkey, as well as in Major League Soccer (MLS). The 37-year-old German-American quickly became a Fury fan favorite as he tore through opposition defenses, bagging ten goals and four assists in five contests for an impressive 2.8 points-per-game average that saw him tied for third-best in the league.

The MASL also announced the First Team All-MASL recipients, a complete list of whom is included below, along with all Major Individual Awards nominees.

For the first time, voting for the postseason awards was open to all MASL players, general managers and head coaches, in addition to select MASL staff. Voting was based on regular season performance.

2018-2019 voting results distribution

Head coaches






MASL staff 


Rookie of the Year nominees
D - De Bray Holliman – Ontario Fury
F – Tavoy Morgan – Harrisburg Heat
F – Zach Reget – St Louis Ambush

Newcomer of the Year nominees
M - Molham Babouli – Mississauga MetroStars
F – Kevin Ellis – Kansas City Comets
M – Jermaine Jones – Ontario Fury

MVP nominees
M - Brandon Escoto – San Diego Sockers
F – Max Ferdinand – Milwaukee Wave
F – Nick Perera – Tacoma Stars

Defender of the Year nominees
D – Adriano Dos Santos – Baltimore Blast
D – Marcio Leite – Milwaukee Wave
D – Darren Toby – Utica City FC

Goalkeeper of the Year nominees
GK – Josh Lemos – Milwaukee Wave
GK – Boris Pardo – San Diego Sockers
GK – William Vanzela – Baltimore Blast

Coach of the Year nominees
Ryan Hall – Utica City FC
Giuliano Oliviero – Milwaukee Wave
Phil Salvagio – San Diego Sockers

1st Team All-MASL
F - Nick Perera - Tacoma Stars
F - Max Ferdinand - Milwaukee Wave
M - Brandon Escoto - San Diego Sockers
D - Adriano Dos Santos - Baltimore Blast
D - Darren Toby - Utica City FC
GK - Boris Pardo - San Diego Sockers