by Bill Norris

The Ontario Fury, Driven by Mark Christopher Chevrolet, fell behind early and could not crack the San Diego Sockers defense and goaltender Chris Toth as they fell 9-4 in Game 1 of the Ron Newman Cup Pacific Division Playoffs.

San Diego, the regular season champion of the Pacific Division, jumped out to a quick 2-0 lead as Luan Oliveira and Erick Tovar scored 59 seconds apart in the first quarter. Jinho Kim scored for Ontario to cut the lead in half, but that was as close as Ontario would get.

The Sockers led 5-2 at half, and extended the lead to 7-2 in the fourth on Raymundo Reza’s unassisted goal, taking advantage of a rebound off the boards after a Joey Kapinos save. The Fury scored twice with the sixth attacker in the last five minutes, but then gave up two into the vacated net to account for the final score.

Tovar, Oliveira and Brian Farber each had two goals for the Sockers, who got 12 saves from Toth. San Diego also blocked 13 Ontario shots on the night. The Fury were led by Leonardo de Oliveira, who had a goal and assist in the game. Andy Reyes and Alex Caceres also scored for the Fury. Joey Kapinos made 14 saves for Ontario.

Game 2 of the best-of-3 series shifts north to Citizens Business Bank Arena at 7 p.m. Tuesday, as the two teams will meet to decide who advances to take on Soles de Sonora in the Western Conference Finals. Should the Fury win Game 2, there will be a 15-minute mini-game played 15 minutes after the conclusion of Game 2. If the two teams are still tied after the mini-game, the series will be decided in 10-minute sudden death overtime periods.

Tickets for Tuesday’s game are on sale at the Citizens Business Bank Arena box office and online at Ticketmaster.com. All lower bowl tickets for the game are only $10, with tickets in the upper level selling for $5. Fury tickets can also be purchased by calling the Fury’s offices at 909-457-0252.